This week was hilarious! I actually thought that this week s going to go. Ood, and well, it was! Sorta... Well you know what I start with... Well if you don't, heres Monday for you!
Soooo as every week, we start with Monday. And Monday seemed like a regular day. And it was. I finished with my hoss picture taking! OMG I was so happy :D You know why's was so happy? It's cause yearbook was sorta stressing me out! All the pages except for intramurals I believe, are due on FEBRAURY 3! And what day that you say? It's exactly next week Friday. Yearbook takes some time doesn't it? So thats why it was stressing me out! Well' enough about yearbook for Monday. OH! I forgot to tell you! On Monday morning, we put the tables back to normal. That's how I know that it was going to be a good week. You just thought I was psychic didn't you(x Well' yeah. You remember I was talking about last week having " the meeting" ? Well' we put the tabs back to normal. Pretty good yeah? Now on to Tuesday...
Tuesday, I didn't really know what happened in A101 during advisory because I was "helping" King with track sign ups. All seemed okay because all I saw was people coming outside to throw away their pizza and lunch rubbish. I asked Megan and Shaela what was happening in A101 because I didn't want to miss anything and seems like I didn't because they said nothing. I don't like missing things because sometimes when you ask people what happened, they say different things. But i trust Megan and Shaela.
Wednesday was THE BEST! You know why??? Cause Shaela was playing Temple Run!!!!!!!! It was funny because she didn't know how to play! She's saying that it's not funny, but I believe it's funny... It was wasn't it?! For the people who was there(x . She was playing with Rheas in the morning and during advisory, Mr. Ing brought out his iPad. Then he gave it to SHAELA to play with and she still had no idea how to play temple run even after she saw how to play it over and over again. Wednesday was TOTALLY FUN! I wish that everyday could be like Wednesday because.... Well ou should know why! xD
Now what did we do on Thursday? I can't remember because it was a normal day. Normal days are okay, better than bad days. But I like days that stick out in the week like Wednesday. But like I said, normalsp days are better than bad ones. Well what can I say about Thursday?? ... Cause I'm at Rheas house and wrote what happened on Thursday in my planner andi left my planner at my house. Uhmm, so yeah. I was normal, like on Monday. Oh! I remember that wHen I got home, I finished my yearbook page for hoss. I was so happy because I didn't have to worry about it af ter wards. But yeauh that's pretty much what happened on Thursday.
On Friday was our bowling field trip! Yaaay it was so fun. I sat by heighlee on the school bus since SHAELA decided to sit by tantam on the bus instead. If you wanna know about the bowling field trip just go read my other blog about the field trip we had today xD okaaaay byeeee peace out !!! Have a good week the upcoming week. Okay peace!
Saturday, January 28, 2012
Friday, January 27, 2012
ISA Bowling ! Again... (x
Yes, we went bowling again. And I have to say... It was pretty fun. I think I bowled better this time. It all started when we got on the bus today. The drive there was funny because me and Heighlee were talking about random shtuuuuf. And then Shayna and Jolene and Josh started talking to us and started talking about the most random stuff too! Hahaha, Heighlee was talking about how her mice died and then Josh told me that his dog died because he choked on a rock.... What am I supposed to say to that? LOL well we went into the bowling alley and I was excited to start bowling. Then we started. The first game went okay. I went first but I didn't want to be the first person to bowl because it would've so embarrassing if i got a gutter on the first try. As people started bowling, I just went because Heighlee and Megan forced me to go(x I got a gutter anyways..... LOLOL the game was kinda fast and Errlyn got the highest score for the first game. The second game, didn't really try, even though i should have... I wanted to eat my food that's why(x hahahah that makes me and like a fatty. And then the third game as pretty good xD cause that was my highest score. So my scores were.... First game was 66, the second game was 48 (cause I wasn't really trying) and my third one was 69. Haha my last round for my third game was funny because I got a strike, then a gutter ball, and then I got 1 pin which got me a 69 xD Today was really fun because I got to spend more time with my leadership friends. And then the bus ride back was fun too because it was so funny. We were talking about the last time we rode back from bowling and Richie.... And yeeeah... And we were talking about the Ala Moana field trip and Heighlee.... And yeaaah xD Well today was really fun and I'm glad I went because every time we spend time with my friends, we get closer. Well that's all(x Kbye !
Thursday, January 26, 2012
Spring Fling Poster!(;
"A Poster??" You say? Yes, it's a poster that i was working on during advisory and period 4. Luckily, period 4 was last today so i had time during advisory AND period 4. This is what i worked on the whole. I had to work on this and not anything because i had NOTHING when i came in this morning. Yesterday, me & Shaela cut our posters and brought them home. I was thinking about how i should make my poster. I didn't wanna use the cricket machine thing. Cause everyone else was using it and we'll all have the same font. But how else would i make my poster? We ended up bringing it home for nothing because we came in this morning with nothing on our poster(x . So during advisory, i started uploading my pictures for yearbook and started on my poster. It was pretty easy because i just had to find pictures and print them out with my words. The thing is... It takes up all period 4. I barely finished in time because by the time i finished we were already setting up for after school sales. The hard part about the poster was using the cricket thing machine. Because i had no idea how to use it. I had Shaela help me and the first time, the letters were too small. I then tried again but when i did it by myself, it like totally screwed up. I guess the paper wasn't straight when it was in the machine because when it when in, it like went all crooked. The third time, i asked Shaela again and it turned out fine! Well okay then.>-< Cutting out was kinna hard because of the design it made when it cut and the scissors too. It was dull and wouldn't fully cut through. Other than that, i just had to glue everything on to the poster because i placed everything where i wanted it to be. And that's when i was running out of time. But i ended up finishing it before the bell rang. I'd say that i did a pretty good job. Because my paper was brown, it looked all boring and dull but then i added color and pictures and it turned out better than i thought it had. I just hope that the glue won't come off! Okays then. Kbye!
Tuesday, January 24, 2012
EVACUATION... *DunDunDun* ... DRILL! LOL
Now if you read my title, we had an evacuation today. But don't worry, it was only a drill. We were assigned jobs and decided our partners yesterday during advisory. I was partnered with Jolene ANNE(x Agag. Our job was to go on the football field and direct where the students need to go on the bleachers. Our main goal was to get every student on the bleachers and keep them quiet in case this was a real emergency. In my opinion, i think that we were still too close to the school, and i think we should have moved farther down, but i guess it was still okay. So anyway, i was with Jolene, by the very first part of benches. We had to make sure that the students started sitting by us first, and then move down and towards the left. Before the evacuation started, we got to our stations and just waited. I was up by the bleachers and Jolene was on the ground going to direct them up to me, and i would tell them where to sit. I was kind of nervous. I know you're thinking why i would be so nervous about an evacuation drill. That i wasn't nervous about. What i was nervous about was the eighth graders smashing me against the railing. And i should've been prepared because my prediction came true. I was being smashed because they weren't in a single file. I had to move to the empty benches lower and go down as the rows got filled. We had to skip a row because it was too muddy. I wasn't sure if it was allowed because we had to make sure everyone fit but in the end, it turned out alright. We later helped the other groups place the students on the benches. I would say that this event was pretty productive, because in my mind things went as planned. I think that this was good, but should have been done earlier in the year in case there was a real emergency, students would know where to go ahead of time. But at least they know now and that's what's important. Kbye. ^0^
Friday, January 20, 2012
Week 1-20-12 ....
Holy moly........ This week WAS CRAZY! The major start of it all, was Thursday. But the big blow, was TODAY. FRIDAY. Let's start from Tuesday, though.
Monday was Martin Luther King Jr's birthday, so no school ! "I Had a Dream" Well you know what my dream is??? TO HAVE LEADERSHIP BACK TO NORMAL WITHOUT RUNNING IN THESE RANDOM CIRCLES OF PROBLEMS!! Is that too much to ask?!
On Tuesday, things seemed normal, or as normal as things can be... We were just going over our things to do, like Spring Fling, or Orientation. Shayna made everyone make a flyer for Spring Fling. I'll get to my flyer later... Also, us 7th graders had to finish the sketch of the graduation program, so we can make our rough draft on Thursday. Mr. Ing also told us that some of us didn't get why we were writing the Weed & Seed letter. He told us exactly what needed to be in it and why were writing it. We had to make our FINAL DRAFT. Things seemed normal on Tuesday...
Wednesday, we ran into these small problems. I'll get to that later. But on Wednesday, the 7th graders finished that rough draft of the graduation program, and to say the least, i think it was actually pretty good. I loved that background. Now to my flyer. Mr. Ing had told us during period 4 that the flyer was due today, our rough draft. I had been working on my orientation banner, because i knew that would take a lot of time to make. I found out that the flyer's rough draft was due today, so i just decided to make my final one. But every computer was being used. So when one opened up, i took it, and it kind of took me a long time to make the flyer, so i stayed after school. All seemed well that day until i found out yesterday what had happened at ID's. They made some mistakes. I believe the mistake on Wednesday was there having dates on the ID envelope. Why would we have to put dates on the envelop when we never before? That's what confused me... And this problem lead on to...
Thursday. ID's were having too many problems. I took pictures of the Hoss people so i wasn't sure what was going on in the morning. I got 4 categories done and i need to do the other for next week so i can finish my page. I later figured out during that advisory that 1 mistake turned into 6 mistakes in 5 minutes! First of all, how is that possible??? To make 6 mistakes in 5 minutes?? And second of all, why are we making this many mistakes in 3RD QUARTER? Shouldn't we know by now? During lunch, we had "the meeting" This was the "kick out" meeting where someone has a chance of getting kicked out of Leadership. Period 2, (who was in charge of ID's) needed to come up with a solution about Wednesday's mistake and they just wanted to forget about it... Fine... But the closer Mr. Ing came to the meeting table, the closer we were coming to HIS solution.....
FRIDAY. Friday made me cry)'; In the morning, we continued the meeting. We also needed to vote if period 2 was going to stay in leadership, or out. And the vote was ONLY BASED ON PERFORMANCE. I voted out D'; I voted them out because they've been given way too many chances. They were given 240 chances! One for every minute they could have thought of a solution. Yet they come back with nothing. And why be here if they're not happy? I started to break down quietly after i shared my vote, because i just didn't think it was fair for Shayna and Rhea... There was 5 yeses to keep them and 11 no's... Then the bell ring for 2 period. Mr. Ing told period 2 that when come back from their period 4, they had better come up with a solution. And then came advisory, with them having solutions like, if they didn't answer Mr. Ing's question, he won't answer theirs. But Mr. Ing wanted something ORIGINAL. Like, planting a garden, or baking a cake, or challenging him to Connect 4. But they came up with something that has already been tried, with the Timecards.We then lined up next to the door, and i knew that they were soon going to be leaving our class. I really didn't want them to leave, but based on their performance, and performance only, they belonged outside. Oh and yesterday, Mr. Ing told period 2 to blog about the problem and when he asked today about who blogged, we found out that only Errlyn did. And if she heard it, the rest of period 2 should have too. That's another reason why my vote was out. They didn't show that they wanted to express how THEY FEEL. I'm not sure what the situation is with period 2 now, but I'M REALLY HOPING THINGS TURN OUT WAAAAAY BETTER NEXT WEEK THAN THIS WEEK!
Monday was Martin Luther King Jr's birthday, so no school ! "I Had a Dream" Well you know what my dream is??? TO HAVE LEADERSHIP BACK TO NORMAL WITHOUT RUNNING IN THESE RANDOM CIRCLES OF PROBLEMS!! Is that too much to ask?!
On Tuesday, things seemed normal, or as normal as things can be... We were just going over our things to do, like Spring Fling, or Orientation. Shayna made everyone make a flyer for Spring Fling. I'll get to my flyer later... Also, us 7th graders had to finish the sketch of the graduation program, so we can make our rough draft on Thursday. Mr. Ing also told us that some of us didn't get why we were writing the Weed & Seed letter. He told us exactly what needed to be in it and why were writing it. We had to make our FINAL DRAFT. Things seemed normal on Tuesday...
Wednesday, we ran into these small problems. I'll get to that later. But on Wednesday, the 7th graders finished that rough draft of the graduation program, and to say the least, i think it was actually pretty good. I loved that background. Now to my flyer. Mr. Ing had told us during period 4 that the flyer was due today, our rough draft. I had been working on my orientation banner, because i knew that would take a lot of time to make. I found out that the flyer's rough draft was due today, so i just decided to make my final one. But every computer was being used. So when one opened up, i took it, and it kind of took me a long time to make the flyer, so i stayed after school. All seemed well that day until i found out yesterday what had happened at ID's. They made some mistakes. I believe the mistake on Wednesday was there having dates on the ID envelope. Why would we have to put dates on the envelop when we never before? That's what confused me... And this problem lead on to...
Thursday. ID's were having too many problems. I took pictures of the Hoss people so i wasn't sure what was going on in the morning. I got 4 categories done and i need to do the other for next week so i can finish my page. I later figured out during that advisory that 1 mistake turned into 6 mistakes in 5 minutes! First of all, how is that possible??? To make 6 mistakes in 5 minutes?? And second of all, why are we making this many mistakes in 3RD QUARTER? Shouldn't we know by now? During lunch, we had "the meeting" This was the "kick out" meeting where someone has a chance of getting kicked out of Leadership. Period 2, (who was in charge of ID's) needed to come up with a solution about Wednesday's mistake and they just wanted to forget about it... Fine... But the closer Mr. Ing came to the meeting table, the closer we were coming to HIS solution.....
FRIDAY. Friday made me cry)'; In the morning, we continued the meeting. We also needed to vote if period 2 was going to stay in leadership, or out. And the vote was ONLY BASED ON PERFORMANCE. I voted out D'; I voted them out because they've been given way too many chances. They were given 240 chances! One for every minute they could have thought of a solution. Yet they come back with nothing. And why be here if they're not happy? I started to break down quietly after i shared my vote, because i just didn't think it was fair for Shayna and Rhea... There was 5 yeses to keep them and 11 no's... Then the bell ring for 2 period. Mr. Ing told period 2 that when come back from their period 4, they had better come up with a solution. And then came advisory, with them having solutions like, if they didn't answer Mr. Ing's question, he won't answer theirs. But Mr. Ing wanted something ORIGINAL. Like, planting a garden, or baking a cake, or challenging him to Connect 4. But they came up with something that has already been tried, with the Timecards.We then lined up next to the door, and i knew that they were soon going to be leaving our class. I really didn't want them to leave, but based on their performance, and performance only, they belonged outside. Oh and yesterday, Mr. Ing told period 2 to blog about the problem and when he asked today about who blogged, we found out that only Errlyn did. And if she heard it, the rest of period 2 should have too. That's another reason why my vote was out. They didn't show that they wanted to express how THEY FEEL. I'm not sure what the situation is with period 2 now, but I'M REALLY HOPING THINGS TURN OUT WAAAAAY BETTER NEXT WEEK THAN THIS WEEK!
Thursday, January 19, 2012
Weed & Seed Support Letter!
So yesterday, our FINAL DRAFT of our Weed & Seed support letter was due. This letter was to help support the Weed & Seed program. Why do they need to be supported? Well actually, this letter was wrote to the legislature to ask them to fun the Weed & Seed program. That means that we are asking them to give money to continue the program. In my letter, i wrote about what they do for our school, why the Weed & Seed program should be funded, the relationships that were built between us students in Student Body Government and the Weed & Seed officers, and what it would be like without them. Although these were what was SUPPOSED to be in the letter, i put what i thought needed to be in the letter as well. This letter was very important to write because this letter was going to the legislature. It was supposed to be an official letter, (i think) because it was going to the legislature. I believe that our letter will be thought over, and "hopefully" (LOL you see what i did there ;D) will be taken into their action. The Weed & Seed program has done a lot for us and we want to not only thank them for what they do for us, but we want them to continue to help our community, because they really make a difference in little children's lives. That's why the Weed & Seed program is important to our community and to the students at Ilima. Well, okay then. K Bye! xD
Flyer!(:
So yesterday, we were working on our flyers for Spring Fling. Our flyers should have stated "What: Who: When: Where:" and also have had pictures of our activities that were going to happen. Most people finished their rough draft of the flyer in their class period yesterday, but i wanted to get started on the orientation banner, because i knew that would take a long time, so i wanted to get started on it. I was working on making the three sections of the banner when i heard Shaela and Mr. Ing talking. I was barely paying attention when i heard Shaela say, "Our flyers are due today?!" I was just like, "What?!" Mr. Ing said that our rough draft was due that day! I thought that the final flyer was due on Friday?! I knew then that i had to get started on my flyer soon. But all the computers were taken! I just waited for someone to finish so that i could use the computer. To kill the time, i started working on the orientation banner. But before all that happened, i should've told you that before class, we wrote in our planners, like i said in change #6, i think. He went in the order of "Flyers, Weed & Seed letter, Orientation" I should've known that that was why the flyers were first. They were the top priority. So anyway, when a computer was free, i started on my flyer. As i sat in front of Pages, my mind just went blank! I forgot what to put in the flyer! I mean, i knew what words to put, i didn't know what kind of pictures. I just found any pictures of the activities that our going on during our Spring Fling. I took a lot of time on my flyer, that i stayed afterschool. Mr. Ing had a meeting to go to so i stayed in the classroom. I had the feeling that i needed to rush before school ended and once that school bell rang, my stomach churned. Man, i hate that feeling>__< But when Mr. Ing gave me time to finish my flyer, i just went away. I then just took my time and got it done. I did face some problems, like how to move the picture, but then i figured it out... It was a dumb thing to not know-.-" But i'm glad i finished it in time! Kay bye!
Saturday, January 14, 2012
Week 1-13 !
Now, this blog is about this week, January 9 - January 13. This week was the week things were starting cool off, right? Haha, well, sooo here it goes.
On Monday, we had to do 8 blogs on the eight changes that we had. You remember those don't you? It was all the eight changes which were the ones that i wrote about in the blogs. Also on Monday, hopefully, the confusion about the iPod and opening the door when cleaning up after after school sales were cleared up!
On Tuesday, we had another blog due, which was which change we would liked to have been taken out. I chose number 2, due dates through Webgrader, because, as i said before, what if people can't use the internet when they're home? Like, it's something that we can't control. Everyone had a choice on which on they would like to have been taken out.....
And on Wednesday, Mr. Ing decided to take out the weekly grade checks. He looked at everyone's vote, and most people wanted the weekly grade checks gone. That one would've helped me a lot by keeping up with my grades but i think that it's less stressful having it gone and not worrying about having your parents sign it every week. This was also the day when people began to start getting off of probation, which was when things were starting to cool down, with solving more of our problems.
On Thursday, things were starting to clear up. I was outside doing the voting for hoss elections, so i didn't know what the discussion was about during advisory, but i know that it was smooth and had no lectures i think, because when i walked in to ask a question, people were laughing and smiling, and it just made me want to smile :D But there were some dumb people during hoss elections, because they would take people's ballot and not show us their ID. Mr. Ing scolded them, and he walked away xD. Other than that, Thrusday was pretty good i'm guessing.
Friday was where we were ending our week good! During out period, we were working on our things for the activities, like i was counting the ballots, Rhea was making the banner for Spring Fling, and Shaela and Shanice were making the flyers for Spring Fling. It was fun because whenever they thought of something that showed spring, Mr. Ing was totally against the idea xD. Shanice also started teaching me some of the period 4 dance, that i was going to finish. But when i came in after school, i saw Mr. Ing talking with Shayna and Rhea. That's when i knew there must be a problem. I listened and found out that the problem was people not knowing what they're supposed to do, other people doing other people's job, and people just not doing anything. Shanice was teaching me part of the period 4 dance, since she used to be it, and she already had some choreo, so she was teaching me that, and i was going to finish the end of it and come up with my own choreo. But nope, we can't do that. Megan also didn't know what to do during her period 2 when Rhea told Shayna to tell Megan to finish the "Fling" part of Spring Fling. But she went up to Mr. Ing, not knowing what to do.
This day just ruined a good week. Next week, we need to solve our problems, before they even become a problem! So basically, just do what you're supposed to do, and we shouldn't have a problem. Next week should be better....
On Monday, we had to do 8 blogs on the eight changes that we had. You remember those don't you? It was all the eight changes which were the ones that i wrote about in the blogs. Also on Monday, hopefully, the confusion about the iPod and opening the door when cleaning up after after school sales were cleared up!
On Tuesday, we had another blog due, which was which change we would liked to have been taken out. I chose number 2, due dates through Webgrader, because, as i said before, what if people can't use the internet when they're home? Like, it's something that we can't control. Everyone had a choice on which on they would like to have been taken out.....
And on Wednesday, Mr. Ing decided to take out the weekly grade checks. He looked at everyone's vote, and most people wanted the weekly grade checks gone. That one would've helped me a lot by keeping up with my grades but i think that it's less stressful having it gone and not worrying about having your parents sign it every week. This was also the day when people began to start getting off of probation, which was when things were starting to cool down, with solving more of our problems.
On Thursday, things were starting to clear up. I was outside doing the voting for hoss elections, so i didn't know what the discussion was about during advisory, but i know that it was smooth and had no lectures i think, because when i walked in to ask a question, people were laughing and smiling, and it just made me want to smile :D But there were some dumb people during hoss elections, because they would take people's ballot and not show us their ID. Mr. Ing scolded them, and he walked away xD. Other than that, Thrusday was pretty good i'm guessing.
Friday was where we were ending our week good! During out period, we were working on our things for the activities, like i was counting the ballots, Rhea was making the banner for Spring Fling, and Shaela and Shanice were making the flyers for Spring Fling. It was fun because whenever they thought of something that showed spring, Mr. Ing was totally against the idea xD. Shanice also started teaching me some of the period 4 dance, that i was going to finish. But when i came in after school, i saw Mr. Ing talking with Shayna and Rhea. That's when i knew there must be a problem. I listened and found out that the problem was people not knowing what they're supposed to do, other people doing other people's job, and people just not doing anything. Shanice was teaching me part of the period 4 dance, since she used to be it, and she already had some choreo, so she was teaching me that, and i was going to finish the end of it and come up with my own choreo. But nope, we can't do that. Megan also didn't know what to do during her period 2 when Rhea told Shayna to tell Megan to finish the "Fling" part of Spring Fling. But she went up to Mr. Ing, not knowing what to do.
This day just ruined a good week. Next week, we need to solve our problems, before they even become a problem! So basically, just do what you're supposed to do, and we shouldn't have a problem. Next week should be better....
Tuesday, January 10, 2012
If He Were To Take One Away.....
This blog is about having the chance to ask Mr. Ing to take away any of the 8 changes. Well, except for the first change, which was the lunch choice. That's the only one that we can't take away, because it is his change, that he wants. So, i had to think for a very long time, to see which change i would want to be taken away. I took a long time to think, because i know that every single change is helping us leadership students. Mr. Ing is putting up these changes because he wants to help us. I don't think he wants to see anyone leaving this program. He told us that he doesn't just want to leave us under the bus, without any support. That's what's really great(': Well, after thinking for a while, the one change that i would want to be taken away is change #2, Due Dates Through Webgrader. I would want this change to be taken away, because that change applies to ALL of our assignments. Mr. Ing won't tell us in class when our projects are due, because it is our responsibility to check Webgrader everyday. But what if we don't have internet connection in the house? What if you're busy the entire day, going out with the family? That's why i liked it before, when Mr. Ing would tell us our due dates in class, so that EVERYONE would know. It was easier that way, because with this new change, he could tell us that something is due one day, and you believe that it's due that day. But since you believed him, you didn't bother to check Webgrader, since you heard it from him. But that due date that he said could be wrong. You need to check Webgrader. And that's something that i don't like. We were talking about when our first weekly AR goal is due, and he said the first Friday of the quarter, which only gave us three days to read and take a test! We believed him, and only some of us actually checked Webgrader, since most of us probably thought that it was actually due the first Friday, when it's actually due on the NEXT Friday! I felt so dumb. I even checked Webgrader, but didn't go into the homeroom assignments! smh-,- ...... I don't mind this rule, but it's the one that i would like to have taken out. But this rule really helps me become more responsible in the things that i do. Like i said, we can't keep using the same excuse, "Oh, i forgot." That excuse won't work when you grow up and miss something important in your job. You'd almost guaranteed be fired. Then what? Mmhmm, that's right. So, all of these rules are meant to HELP US, not to TORTURE US. That's something that some people should understand, i think. You need to understand the changes, before you can judge them. I know that in my blog about the 2 change, i said that i didn't want it changed, and look at me now. Writing a blog about what change i would want gone, and talking about change 2. Well, after i thought about it, i actually understood what could happen in this rule. Like, you can't check Webgrader? Or you believe the due date Mr. Ing tells us in class? There could be many outcomes of this change, or any change for that matter. So, overall, Change #2 is the one that i would have chosen to take away.
Oh Yeah! And today, during 8th grade advisory, Mr. Ing told us what the purpose for the Time Cards are. You see, in the beginning of this morning, after reading all our blogs yesterday, Mr. Ing noticed that NONE of us knew what the purpose was. We tried to guess, but he said that we were FAR OFF. I thought it was to see who actually cared to come and show him our planners and sign it. But i guess not, because he said that it wasn't something obvious. Finally Shayna just guessed and suprisingly got it right! The answer to why we have time cards is........... It gives us a chance to talk to Mr. Ing. Yet, no one noticed that and never talked to him, about anything in our life, while we got our planners signed. I should really look into the purpose of every single rule, because what i put might have been off as well. Should be fun challenging my brain, right?! Well, yeees, i guess that's it! See yuuuhs later(x !
Oh Yeah! And today, during 8th grade advisory, Mr. Ing told us what the purpose for the Time Cards are. You see, in the beginning of this morning, after reading all our blogs yesterday, Mr. Ing noticed that NONE of us knew what the purpose was. We tried to guess, but he said that we were FAR OFF. I thought it was to see who actually cared to come and show him our planners and sign it. But i guess not, because he said that it wasn't something obvious. Finally Shayna just guessed and suprisingly got it right! The answer to why we have time cards is........... It gives us a chance to talk to Mr. Ing. Yet, no one noticed that and never talked to him, about anything in our life, while we got our planners signed. I should really look into the purpose of every single rule, because what i put might have been off as well. Should be fun challenging my brain, right?! Well, yeees, i guess that's it! See yuuuhs later(x !
Monday, January 9, 2012
Change #8. Late Notice from the Library = Probation
This eighth and last change (hopefully) is about getting those late slips about overdue library books. If we get any of those slips, we are automatically put on probation. These slips are to keep us from keeping overdue books, and so is this change. We need to keep track and remember the due date of our library books before they are over due, because i'm sure that some people are waiting for that book to come back to the library. We have this change because some people don't return their library books even though some people are waiting for them to return them.... *cough cough* xD LOL just kidding(x But yes, this change is to make us way more responsible because sometimes, people forget, but forgetting is something that is not an excuse, because what if you "forget" to turn of the burner after you're done cooking, or what if you "forget" to turn off the light or tv before you go to bed? Forgetting is not a good excuse, because pretty soon, that's all you'll be saying for the rest of your life. I actually don't like this rule, because i am very forgetful, and i tend to forget about small things, like library books, so i have to write on my hand or tie a string to my finger to remember these things. I even had to write on my hand about these 8 blogs so i could remember! That's how forgetful i am. I don't think that we should change this rule because it helps us students to be more responsible, and can't use the "I forgot" excuse, because that excuse is laaaame. It helps us to remember our due dates, because sooner or later, some due date would be extremely important, and you forget and say, "Oh, i forgot." What's gonna happen? That's right, "I don't know." But i do fit into this change because, like i said, i'm a very forgetful person and i forget a lot of things, so this change would help me become more responsible and less forgetful(x ...... Once again, "Hopefully" . That's gonna become my new favorite word xD LOL okay, then, Kbyeee! ;D
Change #7. Weekly Grade Checks
This seventh change is about the weekly grade checks. This change is where we have to get our grades from each of our teachers for every period, and get our parents signatures. We have this rule to help us keep up with our grades. Any D's or F's and we are on probation. So these rules help us keep up with not only our leadership grades, but every period. I like this rule, because it helps us not just put things to the side, and say, "Oh it's okay if i get a bad grade on this because the rest of my other work is good." But since these grade checks are weekly, we can't do that anymore. We need to do our best on every assignment that we have. I don't think that we should change this because it's helping everyone keep up with everything. It's helping us keep our grades together, so that we don't fall apart and have a melt down. But it also really helps us do our best in all the assignments we have. Because like i said, we can't have people who put things to the side and think that it's okay to get a bad grade on one activity, just because the rest of their assignments are good, and have good grades. It keeps us responsible, and makes sure that we get our work done with quality, not quantity. And that's kind of the standards for our blogs too. If we out enough quality into our blogs, we wouldn't have to keep writing looong blogs. But this blog isn't about that. It's about this weekly grade check. I fit into this weekly grade check change, because without it, i would be saying "Oh it's okay if i get a bad grade on this, because the rest of myt grades are good." That's something that needs to stop. Now. Because pretty soon, that's what i'm going to be saying in everything that i do when i get older. So this change is going to help me stop saying those things. I really hope...
Change #6. First 15 Minutes of Class Belongs to Mr. Ing (Planners)
This sixth change is about having the first 15 minutes of each class belonging to Mr. Ing. In the beginning of each class, (homeroom, leadership period, advisory) it's Mr. Ing's turn to talk. That's when he gives us any announcements, and anything that we need to know, and we write it in our planners. We have this change, because i think that Mr. Ing always tries to make the first 15 minutes of class belong to him, it's just that we don't know, so we always talk without giving him the chance, and that's because we were being self-fish. I think that Mr. Ing put up this rule because not everyone was acknowledging that he wanted to talk, so when he makes it "public", so that everyone would know that it's his turn to talk. I actually like this rule, because it lets Mr. Ing give us any announcements that we need to know. If we didn't have this rule, i don't think that some of the announcements would get out to us, and then we wouldn't know what's happening. So i'm actually happy about this rule. I don't think that we should change this rule, because it's helping EVERYONE. If we didn't have this rule EVERYONE wouldn't know what's going on, so this change affects EVERYONE, while some affect just some particular people. We have this rule because some people just cut Mr. Ing off, and talk about their own social life, which is being self-fish. That's another thing that's causing all the problems that we have. I think that i do fit into this, since i said that this rule affects EVERYONE, but if it didn't really affect everyone, i don't think that i would fit into this rule because i let Mr. Ing talk, when he needs to talk because most of what he says is very important and informative, so i want to hear what he says. If some people would let him talk without interrupting him, i think that we wouldn't have this rule.
Change #5. Time Cards
This fifth change is about the time cards. This change probably affected me the most. Time cards is that we have to give Mr. Ing our planners, and he writes down what time we checked in for work. This affected me the most because, as i said earlier, i've been late to work before, and being late equals to being on probation. So i've been stressing out on how to get to school, because i know that the bus would skip us again, and since UH started today, my dad won't be able to take me anymore, because he would leave early, before he hits traffic. We have this rule so that people come to work on time. If they don't then... *DunDunDun* PROBATION! And that's why i don't want to be late. I don't like this rule, because it's like rule 3. I don't want to be late for work, because of something that is not my fault. And most times, i'm late in the morning because of the city bus. The city bus gets me all mad and makes my day ruined. That's why i hate the city bus now. Wait, not hate. "Strongly dislike" the city bus. I think that we should change this rule because it makes my day ruined. If come to school late, and see that my planner says that i come later than 7:15, my heart would drop, because that means, probation. And i don't think that i mentioned this in the other blog, but if you get on probation more than once, you start to loose privilages, and can't work for longer until you work it off. So yes, i think that this rule should be changed, or gone, because i come to school late, because of something that's not neccesarily my fault, and it makes the rest of my day junk>-< But, i know that i fit into this change because i've been late before. I don't like this change, yet, i fit into it. So what i'm trying to say, is that i've one of the reasons why we have this change, and i'm the one that doesn't like it. If anything, i should be the one to like it, because shouldn't it help me? It does help me, but it makes me all stressed and tired, because i would have to figure out multiple ways to get to school, and i can't come too early, cause what am i supposed to do? But, yes, i know that this change will help me, because i know that it's going to MAKE me come early to school, and that's a good thing :D
Change #4. Weekly AR Goals
This fourth rule is about our AR goals. We have this new change, where we divide our whole AR goal, and divide it by 7, and that's how much points we need to earn by the end of the week. We have this rule because some people had to rush on their AR goal at the end of the quarter. For most students on campus, they can finish their goal or not. Us to, but if we don't finish it, we get kicked out of Leadership. This new change helps us keep track of our reading goal. It helps us not get all stressed about finishing our goal at the last week of the quarter. I mean, how hard is it to read a book, take a test, and color in our chart? Doesn't seem that hard. The hardest part would probably be the reading but some people read for pleasure, but they can't read for school?! These blogs are starting to show my true feelings, and i guess that's one of the reasons on what they're meant for xD. I thought in the beginning that i wouldn't like this rule, because I HATED READING SOO MUCH! You should've seen me in 6th grade. I hated doing my Teenbiz>----------------< It was so boring! But you know what my goal for 7th grade is? To become a better reader and start to like reading. And with this new change, i'm starting to see that i can actually like reading. I'm reading this book called Dear John. Seems boring at first but it's a lot of AR points and i need to beat Rhea! I'll get to that later. But Dear John, is actually a really good book, and i'm not even half way done! Okay, so this thing that we have with our period 4, is that whoever finishes their AR goal first, gets to get $1 from everyone else in the group. I want to beat Rhea, because she already got a lot of points from her previous book! But Dear John is 13 points(; This challenge that Rhea made up is good, and bad. It keeps us trying to beat each other and read faster, so we can get money, but actually, we're finishing our AR goal, and that was her whole plan. But i think it's sorta bad, because it makes me want to rush, but i need to understand the story. Anywhooooo, back to the new change. I really like this new change, because it's making me read more books, and making me start to love reading. I never ever thought that i would like reading,or even love, but look now. I'm starting to want to read one book after the other! I don't think that we should change this rule, because it is helping me soo much. I'm starting to see that these rules are really meant to help us improve in what we do. I mean, i knew that these rules were meant to help us, but i never thought that it would make me love reading. I actually thought that it would make me hate reading more, cause of all the books i need to read. I don't think that i fit into this rule, because i've always finished my AR goal on time, but i'm really happy that we have this rule, because without it, i probably never would've thought i could love reading. Ever<3
Change #3. Probation - Late for Work, Miss Due Date
This third change is about us being on probation because we were late for work, or missed a due date. If we are late for work, or missed a due date, we are automatically placed on probation. To get off probation, we need to work for it. For example, you can work at the library and help shelve books, or pick up trash in the courtyard. But when would you do these things?? We have jobs during morning, wiki, and afterschool ! So that's hard to figure out, because, sure, you can go work at the library or pick up trash, but if you do it when you're supposed to "work", like during wiki, or morning, you're still missing your job! You finally catching on? That's what i mean, so basically, if you mess up... You're pretty much screwed... Because it's hard to come off probation! But i think that the best way to get off probation, is by working anyways. Even though you can't work, because of probation, you still should. Because didn't we make a commitment, that we need to help the students of Ilima if we were going to join? Well, maybe you guys didn't, but i know that that's exactly what i was thinking in my head. And how can we help them if we're not working?? So, we're still on probation but working our jobs? Yes. Because i think that's the best way to get off probation. We have this change, because some people come late to work, or miss a due date, but do nothing about it! I mean, hello??? Why do nothing about it?! Maybe i'm being a hypocrite, but still. I should've known better too. That's why we need to work it off. We can't just sit there and do nothing.. At least do SOMETHING! Like, sheesh. Oh, yess, i'm such a hypocrite, and i shouldn't be saying these things about other people, but i'm talking to myself also. I don't like this job, because for me, i've come late to work plenty times, and that's not something i'm proud of, and i can't say it's not my fault and i can't say it is. I've come late in the morning because of the stupid city bus!! OMG i was sooo pissed off! Cause it skipped us like three times! So i came to school at like 8:00! REALLY?! Goooooodness Gracious!!! I also came late because some of my teachers have me stay back to finish my work, and copy down my homework, even though i tell them ahead of time. But hey, school is school, and you have to work at school, in class, and in leadership. I ain't Superman.. LOL xD I think that we should change this rule, because sometimes, us being late isn't entirely our fault. It could be because of a stupid bus (It skipped us again on Wednesday too ya know!) or our teachers, but missing a due date would be our fault, and that's something you need to be responsible for. I know that i fit into this because, as i said before, i've been late and missed due dates. So this rule actually keeps me aware of the time, and being responsible to ask the teacher if i could leave early. I think that this is the most significant change out of all the 8, because it has the most impact when we work. I wish that this rule would be deleted(: !
Change #2. Due Dates Through Webgrader
This second rule is about having ALL, and when i say ALL, i mean EVERY SINGLE PROJECT that we are assigned, due dates on Webgrader. That's all our blogs, (which is what i'm writing now. We have to write all 8 changes by today.) projects, gradechecks, etc. We have this rule because some people miss due dates. That leads to another rule, but i'm not gonna go into that just yet. We also have this rule to keep people responsible, to check their Webgrader EVERYDAY! Because Mr. Ing may add something new everyday. This rule helps us students stay on top of things, and by that, i mean that we know what's going on, and what's due when so that we can get started on it. I like this rule, but i don't like it. I like this rule, because it really does keep me responsible, and it makes me check Webgrader everyday, not only for my leadership classes, but for all my other classes. If i don't check Webgrader everyday, i might miss A LOT of things, because only yesterday night, at around 9, i found out that we had 8 blogs due today! I just had this feeling, that i should check my Webgrader and the Facebook page, and good thing i did, because if not, i would have gone to bed without knowing anything about these blogs. I don't like this rule, though, because it makes me feel all anxious and scared, because having this new rule, probably means that a lot of things are going to be due soon, so that's why Mr. Ing is making us check everyday, so we don't miss a due date. It makes me feel all nervous and scared and REALLY STRESSED! OMG, don't get me started on that. But i really need to take my time, and do things step by step, as i told my group about graduation. Anyway, I think that we shouldn't change this rule, because it keeps me on top of things. It makes me a MUCH more responsible person. Like A MUCH MORE responsible person. Like, no joke. Because i always have this feeling of anxiety, it reminds me to check Webgrader, and that's actually what i like about this rule(: The different feelings i get, knowing that nothing's due that day. I think that i fit into this because i've had some late assignments turned in, and it brought down my grade, not only in leadership, but my other classes. That's why, while i'm checking the due dates for my leadership assignments, i'm also looking at the due dates of my other classes as well. Hopefully, though, this problem will REALLY be resolved, and we can come back to being a regular leadership class(: .
Change #1. In or Out During Lunch
This first rule mainly involves the eighth graders. This rule is about staying in or out of the classroom during lunch. We have this rule because some people talk too much during lunch, when they could be outside, instead of being in the room, making noise by talking. Their lunch period, is us seventh grade students advisory. So it's actually class time for us. I think that's why we have this rule, because some people don't realize that for some other students, it's actually class time, to read or to work on some other things that need to be done. I actually kind of like this rule, because it keeps some of the eighth graders quiet during advisory xD and it also makes them think about what their actions are. Because once you're out of the classroom during lunch, you have to stay out for the rest of the year. When i say that it makes the eighth graders think, i mean that they need to really think about if they want to go out or not. One time, Mr. Ing said that we should go for a walk. I heard Rhea say, "No way. I'm not going anywhere. I'm staying right here." But then i see Shaela get up from her seat and almost get her vest and say, "Okay!" But i reminded her that if we go out, we stay out. She then realized that i was right. She said, "Oh Yeah!!! Ohh, never mind. I'm staying right here." And that was really funny, because that was a test, and although Rhea succeded, Shaela, i guess, forgot about that rule. I think that we should change it later, maybe in the fourth quarter, because maybe then, the eighth graders would know that they need to be quiet during our advisory, and they can't keep coming in and out of the room. This rule also applies to us seventh graders too, because some of us come in and out during our lunch, but it's different for us. This affects us differently because it's only for that lunch. Not for the whole year. But i think next year MIGHT be like this, i hope not though>-< But if it is, i should be quiet during seventh grade advisory, so we won't have this rule. I kinda fit into this rule, because i used to go out during seventh grade lunch, and come back about 5 minutes before the bell rings, and come back to the room and get my bag. That might have been the reason for why we have this rule, and i have now learned from these mistakes, that once i'm out, i stay out.....
Friday, January 6, 2012
3 Days, Full of Everything! (Week 1/4/12 - 1/6/12)
On Wednesday, we came back from winter break. The day before that, me, Megan, and Jolene came to help Mr. Ing put away some Christmas decorations, before we came back. But on Wednesday, WE WERE BACK! Winter break was actually pretty boring. All i did was SLEEP. Even till 2:30 one time. xD. But i'm glad i was back, because i got to be back with my friends that i missed since i was on break. We first had to discuss about the new rules Mr. Ing put up. The rules would help almost every single person in leadership, become more responsible. There are 7 rules. I know what rule i fit into. Rule #6. That rule is the time cards. The reason for the time cards is because some people come to school late, and come to their jobs late. I've come to school and my jobs late before, so i know that this rule involves me. We need to be at school before 7:15 in the morning. If not, we're on probation, and we need to find a way to get off it, and it cannot be anybody elses jobs. It could be something like, cafe monitors, picking up rubbish, or help shelve books in the library. That also ties into another rule. Once we're on probation, we can't work until we get off. And Mr. Ing makes it hard to get back off probation, because when are you gonna work it off? We have jobs in the morning, wiki, and after school. And for the eighth graders, they can't work it out at lunch, because another rule that Mr. Ing made, was that once you're out of the classroom during lunch, you stay out for the rest of the year. So when would you work it off? If you work it off during your job, since you can't work, you're still missing work, and you're still gonna be on probation. Do you see what i mean now? I think that Mr. Ing purposely made it like this, so that once you screw up, it's hard to get it back. So basically, DON'T MESS UP! That's all through the week. All the changes. On Thursday, we had a big talk about the changes, because 7 people got on probation because they didn't follow the rules. Luckily for some, they took the opportunity to go to cafe and get off probation. That was smart. Today was pretty good, actually. I don't think we ran into any problems. Yesterday, we had a lot of problems, but hopefully, they were all cleared up. I hope next week will be much better..... !
Hero Oral Presentation!
Today in homeroom, we did our oral presentation about our hero. My hero is my dad. We had to go up in front of the class and say who our hero is, why they're our hero, something about our hero, and what we learned from this activity. When it was my turn, i was really nervous. I really don't know why, because i've been in this classroom for 2 quarters, so why be so scared to talk in front of people? But for some reason, i was nervous. I knew we had to do an oral report today, but i didn't think about what i would say. I guess that's something that i should have done ahead of time, like Jolene. I just decided to wing it. And it didn't really work out as i had planned, but then again, I HAD NOTHING PLANNED! I just talked about why my hero, is my hero. I said that he's my hero because he's always been there for me as a child and taught me the basic things in life when i was little, like how to tie your own shoes, and how to walk. But that's something that was already stated in my powerpoint and video essay. I guess what i was trying to say, was that my dad has been there to teach me things, since the day i was born. He's never left my side and i "never" leave his. I also said that when i go out with him, to help with something, like help him do the recycling by Long's, he gives me some of the money from the recycling, and we sometimes go out to get a treat, like frozen yogurt or something xD. Something that i learned from this activity, is that you should appreciate everyone that has ever been in your life, because whether or not, they made a big impact in your life, you're surely gonna miss them when they're gone. I also learned to tell people what you want to tell them, before it's too late. I also learned how to make a video essay and put it on a powerpoint! That was something new!(x
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)